Federation of Drug & Alcohol Practitioners
Substance Misuse Management in General Practice (SMMGP)

FDAP Qualifications: FDAP/Adfam Drug & Alcohol Family Worker Professional Certification

Criteria and Evidence

To be eligible for Certification as a Drug & Alcohol Family Worker Professional, practitioners must provide evidence of competence in each of the nine National Occupational Standards (NOS) units.


NOS units

Core Units

  • Promote effective communication and information sharing [ SCDCPC311]
  • Promote, monitor and maintain health, safety and security in the workplace [ SFHSS03]
  • Reflect on, develop and maintain your practice [ SCDLDSS6]
  • Develop practices which promote choice, well-being and protection of all individuals [ ASTH416]

Additional Units

  • Contribute to safeguarding children, young people and vulnerable adults [ CCSCCS17]
  • Assess and act upon immediate risk of danger to substance users [ SFHAB5]
  • Raise awareness about substances, their use and effects [ SFHAD1]
  • Work with families, carers and individuals during times of crisis [SFHMH13]
  • Assess the needs of carers and families [ SCDHSC0427]



Certification is valid for three years. To be eligible for re-certification, a practitioner must: (i) have an up-to-date workplace assessment confirming their on-going competence; (ii) have held continuing FDAP membership since last certified.


Return to the top of the page