Federation of Drug & Alcohol Practitioners
Substance Misuse Management in General Practice (SMMGP)

FDAP Qualifications: Drug & Alcohol Professional Certification


Please note that the correct application forms for the workplace assessment report are at workplace assessment.


FDAP's Drug & Alcohol Professional Certification provides a competence-based certification for drug and alcohol practitioners, based around the Drug & Alcohol National Occupational Standards (DANOS).

To be certified as a Drug & Alcohol Professional, practitioners need to provide evidence of competence in nine compulsory NOS units plus one from a set of 'optional' DANOS units.

Under the scheme, practitioners can be certified as either Registered or Accredited Drug and Alcohol Professionals.


To be Registered as a Drug and Alcohol Professional practitioners will, as a minimum, need their employers to attest to their competence in each of the 9 'compulsory' units and their one additional 'optional' unit.

Registration provides a first step in demonstrating workplace competence.


To be Accredited as a Drug and Alcohol Professional practitioners need to have their competence in the ten units confirmed by competence-assessed qualifications.

Accreditation provides externally validated evidence of occupational competence.

FDAP Assessment Board


  • Gillian Ward, Msc Addiction Psychology MBACP (Accred)


  • Dr Jacqui Lawrence, BSc, MSc, PhD, SFHEA
  • James Binnie, FDAP Assessment Board Member, BSc (Hons), Dip/HE, RMN, BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD (in progress)
    Lecturer in Counselling Psychology, BABCP accredited therapist, supervisor and trainer, MBACP.
  • Catherine MacGregor, UKCP registered, MSc
    Addictions Counselling and Mental Health Studies KCL
  • Chip Somers
    Therapist and Addiction Specialist
  • Dr Tim Leighton, PhD, UKCP registered
    Director of Professional Education and Research, Action on Addiction, Centre for Addiction Treatment Studies, Warminster
  • Dr Raffaella Margherita Milani, MSc, PhD, CPsychol
    Course Leader Substance Use and Misuse Studies, University of West London

The units

DANOS compulsory units

Other compulsory units ["Health & Social Care"& "General Health" NOS]

Optional DANOS units [one from these]


Certification is valid for three years. To be eligible for re-certification, a practitioner must provide up to date evidence of their on-going competence in the units concerned.

Professional standards

As well as demonstrating their competence, to be Certified as a Drug & Alcohol Professional practitioners must also adhere to FDAP's Code of Practice.


Certification costs £75 for three years. (Reductions are available for those applying through affiliated agencies - there is a £25 charge for practitioners who are already Accredited by FDAP as Drug & Alcohol Counsellors).


For more information, click on the links at the top of the page.

This scheme is open to individual members of FDAP and to employees of affiliated agencies only.

Counsellors with FDAP NCAC Accreditation as a Drug & Alcohol Counsellor are eligible for Accreditation as a Drug & Alcohol Professional with an additional cost of £25 and no further qualifications.

Return to the top of the page